Massachusetts Child Labor Law Reminder

With the summer season fast approaching, thousands of summer jobs are set to be filled by our youth as the Commonwealth’s school year comes to an end.  Retailers are reminded of the state’s child labor law. 
In Massachusetts, children under 14 may not work, with certain very limited exceptions.  All workers ages 14-18 are required to obtain a Youth Employment Permit prior to employment.  Employers must keep the original work permit at the child’s workplace as long as the child works there or until the minor reaches age 18.  Minors 14 and 15 years of age must have their doctor complete a Physician’s Certificate of Health within the previous 12 months of the date the minor applies for a work permit.
Convictions for employing, inducing, or permitting any minor to work in violation of child labor laws are subject to a criminal fine of $500-$5,000 and/or up to one month in prison for each offense.  In addition, civil citations for child labor law violations may be issued in amounts of up to $250 for a first offense, $500 for a second offense, and up to $2,500 for a third and subsequent offense, including up to three years of past violations.
For a complete list of restrictions contained in the law please visit the Attorney General’s website at